Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Epson Perfection 4490 Photo

This scanner includes DIGITAL ICE technology to remove dust and scratches from your films ready for you to store as vibrant digital archives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 42(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Review 1 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by Doug.
This scanner far surpassed my expectations and the way it handles negatives is beyond belief. Over all quality of this scanner first class. Well done Epson.
Review 2 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely Brilliant. Best buy at the price.
Date:01 September 2009
Written by Sammy
I have used this scanner to reproduce my colour slides and negatives fron the 1950's era and all have come out very well. (I am 76 years old !) Also I have been caled upon to copy and edit photographs for other people: another credit. Document copying is also superb. The ICE technology is fabulous. When it finally gives up I will definitely but another EPSON !
Review 3 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
Date:28 May 2012
Written by Tricky Sam
I have owned this model for three or more years and I can only endorse all the previous positive reviews.
I have scanned two or three thousand slides, photos from which I have produced seven books - all best sellers locally, thanks to the quality of the scans.
I have bought several scanners and printers over the last 11 eleven years and would never buy anything other than Epson.
Review 4 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EPSON 4490
Date:06 September 2011
Written by ICphoto
I've used this scanner now for over 2 years and its proved excellent. Both for scanning documents, artwork, B&W negatives, colour trannies and colour negs. I have even scanned in 5x4 colour transparencies in two half's and joined them up in Photoshop! All with excellent results. I only seem to use this scanner in Professional Mode, occasionally in Home Mode. I have never used it in Full Auto Mode as I find I get better results if I do the deciding on the colour and contrast. Also I don't get on with the ICE Technology on 35mm trannies, I find it gives strange "shadows" to edges of some areas. It's quicker to spot the dust in Photoshop. All in all a great scanner for the price and when it finally gives up the ghost I will defiantly get a new EPSON scanner which does 120 film size scanning as I still have many 100's of old slides and negs to scan.
Review 5 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Scanner
Date:09 August 2011
Written by Pete2011
Having used quite expensive scanners at work I thought a home scanner could not produce the same quality. I was right in that the quality of scans from all types of media surpassed that from the more expensive scanners. Supurb reproduction of the most difficult subjects.
Review 6 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Epson 3390
Date:09 August 2011
Written by Hookit
This is a good scanner however there are a couple of things I do not like i.e it does not cover edge to edge you photo or doc is on the scanner within the scanning area and it fails to cover it all. Also ICE is not very good and fails in fact in truth it does not work. Apart from that it is a good scanner.
Review 7 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good
Date:09 August 2011
Written by Montmorency
I've had this scanner for some time, and having used quite a few different scanners in the past, both at home and at work, I rate this easily the best. The options open to the user are wide-ranging, and it has a number of useful functions which I have not encountered before. I'm impressed, and glad that I bought this one.
Review 8 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
Date:09 August 2011
Written by raymond
Like Sammy I also use this for scanning all my slides from 1963 onwards and am delighted with the results. Took a long time to find the right scanner for the job. I am 74.
Review 9 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent scanner
Date:09 August 2011
Written by NJM59
I bought this scanner on the strength of the reviews that I had read.
Straight out if the box this scanner did exactly what it said it would.
Very easy to scan negatives, simple to scan documents.
Simple for a beginner to use but having advanced controls for the more expert folk.
Nothing else to add other than a great scanner for the price.
Review 10 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by Richard
An excellent product - it lives up to my expectations in terms of quality and reliability and ease of use. The OCR software that comes with it is excellent and the film scanning utility is also very useful
Review 11 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by Peter
Exactly what I expected. Easy to use and splendid results
Review 12 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by Brian
I purchased the 4490 in order to convert 120mm B&W negatives and colour slides to digital.
I am very satisfied with the results I have achieved so far. It takes a little time to sort out the best settings for the work you intend doing but once you have sorted this out the results are very good. I download the images to Photo Elements 6 for final adjustments and I have found this arrangement works very well.
Review 13 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by John
Very quick delivery. Excellent product but I could have done with more guidance on hoe to get the best out of it.
Review 14 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by Bill
I bought the scanner mainly to scan slides and negatives and old photographs, and it did everything I asked from it perfectly. I am very pleased with it.
Review 15 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by James
I got one of these to scan my 25 year old B&W negatives. It worked very well.
I used at at 1200 dpi with decreased jpeg compression (the default value is too high).
I didn't use ICE as it is very slow.
I can scan about 12 negatives in 12 minutes.
If you have a lot of negs, I wowuld recommend getting a second negative holder so you can load one (and clean the negs) while scanning with the other.
You can see the grain clearly at 1200 dpi, so I figured there is no need to scan to 2400 dpi.
Compared to another scanner I used, the UI is very good (but not perfect).
In summary, this is a very good mid proced scanner for negs and slides and I could recommend it heartily.
Review 16 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by john
The scanner had a couple of teething problems from my point of view, including initial difficulty coping with slides from old 126 film (I imagine most users will not have this issue!). The other issue also relates to slides, I found I left finger marks on the scanner glass trying to pick up the slides out of the holder after scanning. These reservations aside I was very impressed with the results and cannot fault it. I would certainly recommend it to a friend. If Epson could make an easier way of getting slides off the glass they would have a (excuse the pun) near perfect scanner.
Review 17 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by John
Easy to set up and use. I've not had any problems with it.
Review 18 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by Fraser
Good standard for a very low price. Takes a bit of practice to get film scans to a sufficient standard.
Review 19 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by mansell
The 4490 works well though I often wonder why new products cannot provide new facilities without casuing the unit to take more time to undertake a simple task than the unit it replaces.
Review 20 for Epson Perfection 4490 Photo
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:13 November 2009
Written by Philip
Very good for scanning negatives and slides though a little slow.
1 2 next>>