Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Epson Perfection V700 Photo

The Epson Perfection V700 sets the benchmark for photo scanning. It's the perfect choice for serious photo enthusiasts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Review 1 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great peice of equipment
Date:26 June 2012
Written by Steak
I bought this on the recomendation of a salesman in Jessups. He was absolutly right in recomending the V700. Its a well made scanner complete with all you need for negs, slides and photo's. A little practice and it becomes really easy to use. Also comes packaeged with some great programs for editing the completed photo's.. 10 out of ten!!
Review 2 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Date:02 January 2012
Written by Anonymous
Better than 4870 and produces excellent results. Strongly recommended.
Review 3 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit for purpose.
Date:09 November 2011
Written by Chas
With some 5,000 slides to scan it was clearly going to be a laborious task with my Canoscan 4200F for, although it gave very satisfactory copies of colour slides, the holding frame was tedious to load and it would take only two slides. I then bought a dedicated slide scanner, followed by another one, both of which proved to be a complete waste of money and totally useless.
So, after reading various reviews, I decided to invest in the Epson V700 and from the ease of operation and the quality of the scans I have found it well worth the extra money. The 12 frame slide holder is a significant advantage and while the scanning is in progress one can go through editing the previous set of slides. The frame is very easy to quickly load - but it is the one thing which gives rise to my only criticism. Some of the clips which hold the slides in position have loosened and are no longer effective – more of a niggle than a major problem but given the cost of the scanner one could have expected something more robust.
Also I have found the PhotoImpression 6 very useful tool for editing and, as well as making some exposure corrections and cropping, I managed to salvage a set of badly faded transparencies.
Review 4 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a versatile beast.
Date:21 October 2011
Written by Stedman
I had great difficulty in finding a V700 to buy. I old enough not to spend five weeks pension without actually seeing what I'm buying in the flesh, so to speak. I don't buy on line.
However, I was incredably inpressed. Most of my work is with negatives and I needed to be able to scan up to full plate and now I can!! The operation is simple, and the results are amazing.
Review 5 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A super scanner
Date:13 September 2011
Written by alandshe
Like many, I have hundreds of old 35m/m slides of days gone past, but to view them properly I have to get out the slide projector and go through the hassle of inspecting each one to get it in the slide carousel the correct way round, and putting up with the out of focus “plop” as the slide bends in the heat. And that doesn’t take into account the odd accident of inadvertently inverting the carousel to find all the slides fall out of the carousel onto the floor! It would be so much better if I could view them on a computer or T.V. screen, run them as a PowerPoint show, or print them if I wish. My previous Epson scanner did scan slides, but only one at a time, awfully slowly and with only passable quality. What I needed was a reasonably priced machine that would enable batch, quality scans. After much research the ideal machine seemed to be the Epson V700 photo scanner which appeared to be a dedicated scanner for slides as well as one capable of dealing with normal printed matter. “Googling” reviews of the machine gave encouraging results and so I took the plunge and purchased the V700 Photo.
After getting used to the scanning software, I am now delighted with the results. I use the Epson Scan software for my slides using the 24 bit colour settings at 4800dpi. Settings higher than this take longer, produce larger file sizes and I have difficulty in detecting any real improvement in image quality with the higher settings. The much debated “feet height” settings of the slide holding frame does make a small difference in sharpness, but leaving them set at factory defaults seems fine. I do not use the supplied image enhancement options supplied in the Epson Scan software as I normally run the scanned images through Photoshop, but for those without that programme the available enhancements seem to be of use. Scanned as thumbnails, the slide mount also scans as a black border, which is easily cropped out.
A resultant scan obviously depend upon the quality of the original slide, but if that slide is of good quality, scans come out sharp and of brilliant colour and exposure, matching the originals to a remarkable degree. With the help of Photoshop, even poorly exposed slides can often be rescued to very acceptable standards, and detail never previously seen in the original, spring into life.
With my settings, scanning 12 slides takes about 15 to 20 minutes – during which time I can do something else! File sizes vary between about 14mb to 20mb, presumably dependant upon complexity of the image scanned. The few prints that I have scanned seem to have the same high qualities as the slide scans, although my predominant use is with slides
All in all, this machine has even exceeded my expectations and I can thoroughly recommend it for archiving and for general viewing those old slides that normally do not see the light of day – or of projector - from one year to the next.
Review 6 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
V700scanner
Date:09 September 2011
Written by 10Fphotter
Bought as long ago as December 2009 and still working well having now scanned at least 2-3,000 negatives varying from 35mm to 6 x 7. An ecellent review available on i-photo is worth printing out.
Excellent buy and already recommended this model to two other people who purchased it.
Mike
Review 7 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my best buys
Date:19 July 2011
Written by Blacky
I purchased my V700 in 2008 mainly to scan my thousands of slides (nearly finished). The 12 frame loader is a godsend after scanning them one at a time on my old scanner. I even bought a second 12 frame slide holder to have the next batch ready. The colour reproduction is first class and I use it for all my scanning I originally used it in Windowes XP but now use in in Windows 7 with no problems at all.
Review 8 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent results
Date:19 July 2011
Written by Justdel
So far I have had excellent results scanning slides and negatives. I can't wait until I retire so I have time to scan all the hundreds I still have to do
Review 9 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
Date:19 July 2011
Written by Sloth
Purchased for 64 bit computer. Scanned 30 years of slides and old photos in two months.
Outstanding performance and quality and easy to use. Cannot fault and I would recommend to anyone.
Review 10 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Also Well Pleased
Date:19 July 2011
Written by PMG1
As others have already said this is a versatile machine with excellent quality at a reasonable cost. I've had mine a while but due to other pressures not used it as much as I planned originally! I couldn't use the progs that came with it - maybe I wasn't doing it right but in any case I prefer to use my own programme - I'm still on PSP7 and results are just excellent.
Review 11 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
Date:19 July 2011
Written by digitalman
The Epson Photo V700 Photo is a robust and very reliable scanner. I personally have used it to scan thousands of 35mm slides and 35mm negatives without any issue. Additionally I have successfully scanned thousands of photographs.
I can unreservedly recommend the scanner to any prospective purchaser.
Review 12 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommeded
Date:05 July 2011
Written by Mitu
This is a versatile scanner which you can use for different purposes, including scanning colour transparencies (slides), for which you are provided the necessary frame. Once you learn how to use its different possibilities it is straight-forward and it is value for money. I bought it in 2008. Epson has updated its software, which is excellent. Also valuable is the possibility of asking for costumer support by phone. Epson has now a better model, which is not that much different in price, but I am quite happy with the one I bought.
Review 13 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price/performance
Date:05 July 2011
Written by BigBoy
I purchased the Epson Perfection V700 scanner after looking carefully at reviews. I couldn't justify buying a top-price pro unit, but if I was going to invest thousands of hours scanning my slide and negative collection it made no sense to sacrifice noticeable amounts of image quality to save money. My conclusion after reading what others had said was that the Epson V700 was at the price/performance sweet spot - and so it proved.
I have been very satisfied with the results, and I am confident I am doing justice to my photographs - which are mostly taken with successive Pentax SLRs with Super Takumar lenses. I just do straight scans at the default resolution, and hit the results with Photoshop: my experiments with the supplied SilverFast software, and with ICE dust removal, have left me reluctant to change.
The supplied accessories (slide holders etc.) are on the flimsy side, though they do the job, and I have successfully scanned 35 mm slides, 35mm negative strips and paper documents using them.
I mentioned the purchase to an ex-colleague who is an internationally famous scientific photographer, expecting to be told what I should have bought instead. It turned out he himself had bought a V700 - just like mine, not even the pro version - and was delighted with it. (He uses max resolution scans and stores his images as TIFFs.)
Review 14 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best scanner purchase ever
Date:05 July 2011
Written by Pancake
Just finished digitizing colour transparencies taken over the last 50 years. The results have been exceptional. Images from 40 year old,cardboard mounted colour slides have come out as near to digital images as you can get. This quality of scanning, together with the bundled software, has led to the very satisfactory completion of a family project.
Review 15 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well pleased
Date:05 May 2011
Written by Nicam
Bought this scanner for work just by comparing specs of other similar models and impressed with the quality, speed and ease of use. Been some years since I had purchased a flatbed slide scanner and its fantastic to see how the quality has improved over the years. Looks nice too. :-)
Review 16 for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does well what it is supposed to do
Date:30 July 2010
Written by Anonymous
Only tests of reflection, colour/black and white negatives and colour transparencies in 35mm to 4"x5" have been carried out so far and the only difficulty experienced so far has been using the carriers; they are a bit fiddly. The bundled software will take some getting used to but that is yet to come.
So far this scanner appears faultless
P.Harrison
Ratings-Only Reviews for Epson Perfection V700 Photo
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Average rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2