Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Epson Stylus SX515W

This fast, high-quality all-in-one has Wi-Fi, a large 6.3 cm LCD viewer and memory card slots. It’s cost-effective too because with individual inks, you only have to replace the colour used.
Average Customer Rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(540 Reviews) 384
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (540 reviews)
5 stars
274
4 stars
173
3 stars
28
2 stars
21
1 star
37
438 of 540(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Epson Stylus SX515W
Review 1 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Epson Stylus SX515W
Date:25 February 2010
Written by algdak
ive had this printer about 2 months or so,this is my 3rd EPSON printer overall its a good printer,from my experience so far theres 3 things this printer cant do (or maybe im not doing it right)
1.i cant print black and white fotos using premium glossy paper,i havent tried using ordinary paper,after all whats the use of using ordinary paper to print fotos(ive contacted epson support,who confirms it cant print black and white fotos using foto paper).
2.after about 26 minutes using the WI-FI to print a foto only half the foto was printed (maybe its me thats not doing something right).
3.it wont let me scan things directly to my laptop using WI-FI,if i want to scan to my laptop i have to connect a usb cable which wasnt included with this printer,i used the 1 i got with my epson R300 (again maybe its me :)).
it was my wifes idea we buy this printer because of the WI-FI,scanner and lcd viewing screen,from what i can gather thats the only difference between the SX515W and the R300 (i know you can buy a viewing screen for the R300),print quality is the same from what i can see,
my R300 is sitting in a cupboard but i think itll soon get a new lease of life.
if anyone knows how to do these 3 things feel free to put me right.
Review 2 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Noisiest purchase ever!!
Date:29 July 2010
Written by Anonymous
Compared to my old Epson printer this one is quick and so appreciated, but it is far from perfect:
1. theoretically it is a Wi-Fi all in one but I am an Apple Mac user and the piece of paper that came with the equipment is less than useless and I still have not figured out how to get it to work via Wi-Fi so it takes up a large chunk of my desk, which was NOT what I had in mind when I bought it.
2. it must be the noisiest piece of office equipment that I have ever made use of, especially when it loads the first sheet of paper.
At 70 years of age I am NOT a computer geek and so would very much appreciate CLEAR, DETAILED instructions packed with the equipment that are detailed enough for me to be able to use it in the manner that I want as On-line information is no use whatsoever.
Epson make some good products but their installation instructions make far too many assumptions. The ones with this All-in-One make more assumptions than any that I have had before.
The only people that I would recommend the SX515W to would have to be far more computer literate than myself and hence capable of filling in the missing details on the installation sheet for themselves!!
Review 3 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very, Very, Very Pleased.
Date:29 July 2010
Written by Anonymous
I'm a serious Photographer so I wanted a printer that would do justice to my photos when printing at home and at a reasonable price. My old printer was ok but the price of replacement ink meant that It would be cheaper to buy a new printer each time!. So wanting to get a more upto date, better quality printer, I considered 3 or 4 big brands, checked their consumable costs and with recomendations from family and friends who have Epson equipment, chose the SX515W.
Cable installation was easy, had it up and running in no time. Wi-Fi took a bit longer but is now a great success (Printer set up upstairs, and I can work downstairs). The final tick in the box goes to the software, like the printer itself, simple to use with lots of functions, optimum results from using Epson software & printer together. The Memory card slots work well too, I needed the Compact Flash option & supprisingly some alternative brands don't have the CF port.
So it's thumbs up so far, after just a couple of weeks and one set of starter inks. I hope I'm as happy with it in a years time!
Review 4 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:29 December 2009
Written by Geoffrey
A great product but the WiFi aspect gave me three days of grief. The instructions with the product do not go far enough. My product would not work for three days because it was trying to connect on the wrong channel on the router. Plenty of mention is made of Firewall settings and other router settings but none cover the area that gave me grief. And no help messages appeared to show that the channel settings were in conflict. In fact, following the Epson instructions led to me lose my PC wi-fi connection which set me back half a day. In the end I ignored the advice sheet and set all the settings manually, which is what led me to the channel conflict error. Once I had allocated a new channel, the router and printer communicated well. The Epson advice sheet says contact the person who set up your router, but that was me, and it was a long time ago, so I needed a few more reminders. Now that it is working, the printer is impressive and obvously a good choice.
Review 5 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SX515W
Date:10 July 2011
Written by Millington
I bought this after my much loved Epsom RX520had an internal coronary. In many ways it confirms my positive feelings about Epson printers and performs well. It is faster than my old machine and the quality of print is better both on normal text and on photographs. The wirless function is most useful although I struggles to get this set up correctly as the instructions were all for XP and Vista and I am running 64 bit 7. The enclosed CD also was pretty useless and I had to download drivers etc off the website before I could get things working. I do miss the facility of built in negative and transparancy scanning that I had on the RX520 and would have bought another machine if I could have found this facility. I do not understand why this was discontinued. All in all I am satisfied with my purchase and the machine does all I want with the quality I expected apart from the loss of functions mentioned above.
Review 6 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Epson Stylus SX515W
Date:30 July 2010
Written by Astronomer01
I was forced into buying a new printer because my old printer, a Stylus Photo R245, could not be installed on my new computer. After a recent move I lost the installation discs(I tried downloading drivers from the Epson web site but they never worked). So the only solution was to buy a new printer, so I decided to go for an all-in-one. The printer is excellent well up to Epson standards. Just a couple of niggles. When going from large to small photo prints the printer still tends to use the large size as the template for the small size, and of course, vice-versa. The scanner is not so good, you do not have manual control over resolution, colour or black and white and document type, as I did on previous scanners (non-Epson). When I tried to scan a CD cover (dark green with white letters), the scanner identified it as a black and white document. These problems apart, this product is well worth the money.
Review 7 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
throroughly disappointed
Date:05 July 2011
Written by runnersue
I bought Epson because of the 4 colour cartridges, thinking it would be cost effective way of buying ink, but have had nothing but trouble with this item. The cartridges are tiny and not good value for money, but compatible ones do not work reliably. I am told apparently Epson has "fixed" the use of non - Epson cartridges somehow, which seems to be my experience. I have now bought a refillable system which "fingers Xed" seems to be working and has saved me over £400. Secondly the scanner has never worked properly. After much trouble in the first 6 months I contacted Customer services - a surprsingly very helpful service and very understanding operative, made it possible for me to scan by initiating the scan from the computer but not from the scanner. That was 6 months ago and as I write the scanner will not work at all again. I would NEVER buy Epson again and would most definitely not recommend it
Review 8 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product
Date:05 July 2011
Written by davetech
This is my 4th Epson printer in 9 years and overall quite pleased with the sx515w although I found that the noise level when printing is quite louder more that previous models - The print quality is as good as ever but I found that the Heads do get blocked more often even using genuine ink, as thus more head cleaning and more ink wasted.
Epson should really get to grips with this as this is wasteful to the pocket.
The build quality is so so, you can certainly see where the cuts have been made plastics are thinner and it feels cheap overall but in fairness all printer manufacturers are the same.
But overall this said it would probably not put me off purchasing another Epson, as I've used them ever since I've had a pc.
2 tips for the future - New Epson printers Should have a larger Black ink tank and allow the printer to print black even if a colour ink has run out!
Review 9 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Epson Stylus SX515W
Date:05 July 2011
Written by waldi2867
The black only text printing isn't the best, but it is acceptable. For me personally the WiFi printing alone is worth the purchase price, the many other features simply add to the outstanding vfm. Photo quality printing doesn't seem to be quite as good as my old R320, and I'm sure the photo purist will find fault, but for a first foray into home photo printing it really is good - great for family snaps and easy enough for all the family to use too.
I've read some of the other reviews and think a lot of 'problems' might be rectified by following the comprehensive manual. I've used all the features, without difficulty.
In conclusion, if you're looking for: a first WiFi printer; a first photo printer; or just a great all-rounder - this product should top your list. I just can't see how it can be beaton on vfm and future low running costs.
Review 10 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Epson's star has fallen ....
Date:28 January 2011
Written by SteveH
The SX515W is the third Epson printer that we have bought in recent years. The DX4400 and DX4800, occasional print-head cleaning problems apart, remain in use by family members; these printers have proved to be generally reliable and continue to produce printing of acceptable quality. Sadly, however, the SX515W has been a serious disappointment. After the first cartridge changes, repeated efforts to clean the print heads have failed to deal with a persistent black ink printing problem. The initially attractive, discounted purchase price has been substantially outweighed by the expense and bother of trying to deal with this problem. The printer remains in use only as a drafting printer, and when current inks run out, it's destined for the re-cycling site. Very sad, because I used to think highly of Epson products.
Review 11 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:29 December 2009
Written by Nicola
Arrived promptly and very easy to set up. I must admit I haven't tried the wireless option yet mainly because I haven't needed to. The main reason for the purchase was to replace a simple printer that had broken. The fact that this can do so many other things has already proved a bonus - haven't needed to sneak things into work to scan or copy! It has certainly proved value for money so far and the print quality is excellent. Photos are fab with no pixellation whatsoever (as far as my amateur eyes can see anyway). Kids are glad to be able to print off from CBeebies again, althoug oldest son is a bit annoyed that absolutely nothing stops him from doing a really good job of his homework! Great buy, really pleased.
Review 12 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Third Epson Printer
Date:05 July 2011
Written by JRBOR
First the good points. Reasonable speed excellent print. More than acceptable colour quality with photographs. Good reproduction when using the copy function. Downside, it is quite noisy when compared to my Epson RX500.
The main reason for buying this printer was because I had purchased an Apple Macbook and wanted wifi connection. However try as I might I cannot get the Macbook to print by wifi. Strangely the copying function does work. I have tried downloading drivers without success. Using the usb to connect printing is no problem. On the other hand my iMac has no problem either printing or copying using wifi. This is no fault of the printer but something is amiss with drver, software on the Macbook. But what is it?
Review 13 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not a good replacement
Date:07 July 2011
Written by petrolhead
Having had an Epson Photo Stylus 895 Printer and an Epson 1650 Photo Scanner, when I changed to Windows 7 Pro I found that I could install my great printer, but not the scanner. Epson felt that this scanner was no longer a viable option and did not provide the software to install on windows 7. This combined machine does what it says on the can, but as far as quality goes, the machine is tinny and noisy. It has a lot more features, but on reflection I would have kept my old printer and tried to find the appropriate drivers through Microsoft for my old scanner, both of which were of a much superior build quality and never gave me one bit of bother in nine years of operation until I moved operating system.
Review 14 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best Epson I have bought
Date:27 July 2011
Written by jbenowl22
I have used Epson printers for over 40 years now and this is by far the best I have purchased.
Personaly, I do not use wireless because I am old-fashioned - but it does work very cleanly when I tried it out.
The print speed is the fastest I have ever had in a desktop ink-jet.
The quality of the print is excellent - documents are crisp and photographs are shown in all shades of colour most faithfully.
The integral scan warms up very fast and produces an accurate copy in no time at all.
Overall, I can commend this particular printer with total confidence - it outclasses many far pricier products hands down.
Setting up and installation is a breeze and much easier than the early Epsons!
Review 15 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sx515
Date:18 July 2011
Written by haydsboy
There are a lot of good reviews for this printer. However I have not found it to be as excellent as others seem to. It loses wi fi connection very easily and is very inconsistent in connecting. Sometimes it will and sometimes it will not, and its not the router. In fact sometimes is a good word because it doesnt always work either, jobs will queue and then there will be a rush of printing perhaps 10 minutes later. When it is working its very good and quality is similar. However I hate using it because I never know which printer I am going to get, the good or bad one. I dont use the printer a lot or I would replace it. Would I recommend this printer - definitely not
Review 16 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic all round printer
Date:05 July 2011
Written by Gray6682
This is a great printer for anything you need to print. I do a lot of picture editing and printing and the quality of the photos are amazing, they are so crisp and vibrant colours. I would and have recommended this printer to a few people and two have already brought it. the scan facility is perfect and the controls on the on screen window are easily understandably. It is so simple to set up even to wireless that i don't think it could be made any easier. Some people have commented that its a bit noisy but I've had Epson printers all my life and this is by far the quietest printer I've owned. Thank you Epson for a fantastic all in one printer.
Review 17 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Printer - what a let down
Date:07 July 2011
Written by madaxe74
I bought this printer as it seemed to have everything I wanted. Scanner, printer, wireless..perfect. Then the problems started. As I hadnt used the product for a few weeks it wouldn't print. I took it to a local dealer who said there was alot of problems with them but he would send it back and got me a new one. Got it home, perfect, didn't use it for a few weeks and yet again this won't work. When I took it back, the dealer said he couldn't do anything else for me as it was now out of warranty. It just will not print. I have bought numerous print cartridges, head cleaner. It is now at the back door waiting to go to the local tip!
Review 18 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:29 December 2009
Written by Martin
Although the printer does print very well, we have had network problems from the start. We had to call the Epson helpline because we did not know that we had to set up a new port, made from the IP adress of the printer, to enable the printer to work effectively. previous to this phone call we had documents that were cancelled because the spooling ran out of time (for a one page document of text this was a joke!) and, when the printer did connect we had to print off a page at a time. This lead to many pieces of paper with only half the document printed, which had to be thrown away, wasting our paper and money.
Review 19 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Noisy but nice
Date:04 February 2010
Written by stumpyism
I recently upgraded from the old Photo R300, which was a fine, quiet machine, but also limited.
I have found the SX515W to be faster, and slightly better than the R300. Crisp, clear pictures are produced. Scanning is on a par with my Epson 4490 Perfection. Good copying is also obtained.
Wireless works great. Still have to load the paper by hand though?
However, if you favour silent machines then this is not for you!
When loading paper, this machine frightens the life out of you. There is an almighty clatter from the loading mechanism before printing takes place. Still a first rate printer though.
Review 20 for Epson Stylus SX515W
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SX515W Printer
Date:17 October 2010
Written by Pirate983
My first SX515W has just failed on the black ink cartridge. Has been working fine since December 2009 but yesterday refused to print black - other colours fine. The Epson monitor and Windows reported all OK but didn't matter what I did the black ink would not print. Rang Epson Interaction Centre and they confirmed blocked nozzle but as the printer was still in warranty was able to get exchanged at Tesco where I bought it from. Hope this one last longer but have not had bad experience with any other Epson printer I've had. So far the SX515W has been a great MFD and prints excellent text and pics.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>